Nose Structure: An Introduction to Divisions and Functions

Nose is one of the parts of the respiratory system; it is the body’s main organ of smell. It is sit on the center of the face. It is use to breathe the air, thus it’s also called the air pathway. The nose structure of the exterior anatomy includes the nasal cavity, paranasal sinuses, the blood supply and nerve and lymphatics. In addition, the external part of the nose also consists of several portions, which includes the roots that are located between the eyes, the dorsum that runs down the middle or the center of the face, and the apex which is the tip of the nose. The two opening parts on the tip called nostrils or nares which is the nose part that allows the air to flow. These nostrils are also divides into two main parts, the nasal septum and the alae. The nasal septum is the part that dividing the wall of carlage and the bone and the alae is the area that surrounds both nostrils. The external anatomy of nose bone structure can be seen on the picture below.

Nose Structure: The Nasal Cavity and Its Function

The nasal cavity is the part exterior anatomy of the structure of the nose. This part lies between the skull base and the above oral cavity and palate below. It is surrounded by paired, air-filled chamber on each side. It is lined directly to the nasal mucosa. This mucosa occupies the superior one-third of the nasal cavity, which is the olfactory area. The olfactory tract is the one that responsible to transmit the sensory information about the smell. Knowing the nose structure and function is good start to learn about the most common medical condition and trouble related to the respiratory system, especially for the nose area.

##All Images for education purposes only and all property of their respective owners##
error: Content is protected !!